KC Jeddah marks Kashmir Solidarity Day


By Syed Mussarat Khalil

Saudi Gazette

The Kashmir Committee (KC) Jeddah met here to mark Kashmir Solidarity Day and express its solidarity with Kashmiri people in their just struggle for their right to self-determination at Pakistan Consulate.

The statement issued by Arshad Munir, Consular (Press), said that the committee unanimously adopted a resolution which condemned the ongoing atrocious human rights violations in the Indian Occupied Kashmir. The resolution called upon India to immediately stop gross, systematic and state sponsored human rights violations in Kashmir and allow international human rights and humanitarian organizations an unhindered access to the occupied state.

The committee also condemned the unprovoked firing by the Indian forces on the Line of Control (LoC) with intentional targeting of civilian areas. The committee stressed that the core dispute between Pakistan and India and current catastrophic situation in Indian Occupied Kashmir is a result of non-resolution of the Kashmir dispute.

The committee urged India to implement UN Security Council resolutions on Kashmir, which declare that the final disposition of the State of Jammu and Kashmir will be made in accordance with the will of the people. The committee called upon the international community to fulfill its obligations by persuading India to implement the UN Security Council resolutions on Kashmir.

The resolution commended Pakistan for its unconditional political, moral and diplomatic support for the Kashmiri struggle and denounced continued Indian occupation of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The committee appreciated the efforts of the government of Pakistan to highlight the atrocities of Indian Security forces in IOK at the international fora including United Nations.

The resolution expressed gratitude to Saudi Arabia as well as the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) for their consistent support to the Kashmiri struggle.

The meeting was attended by Consul General Shehryar Akbar Khan, Deputy Consul General Shaiq Bhutto, President Kashmir Committee Jeddah Chapter Masood Puri, Ghulam Nabi Butt, Amil Usmani, Pervaiz Yusuf Maseeh and Sardar Iqbal Yusuf.