Sudan forms 11-member sovereign council to lead transition

A Sudanese man reads the newspaper on August 20, 2019 headlining the court appearance of Sudan's deposed military ruler Omar al-Bashir during the opening of his corruption trial the previous day. AFP

Khartoum — Sudan's generals and opposition alliance on Tuesday formed a sovereign council that will head the country during its three-year transition to civilian rule, a spokesman said.

The line-up of the 11-member council was announced by a spokesman for the Transitional Military Council that had taken charge after longtime ruler Omar al-Bashir was forced from power in April.

The council includes five members of the military and will be headed by General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, who was already the head of the TMC.

"The president of the sovereign council will be sworn on Wednesday", TMC spokesman Shamseddine Kabbashi said in a short televised address.

It will be headed by a general for the first 21 months and by a civilian for the remaining 18 months of the transitional period, due to end in 2022 with democratic elections.

The body also includes Mohamed Hamdan Daglo, who is best known by his nickname "Hemeti". Among the six civilian members of the new ruling council are two women, one of them from Sudan's Christian minority. AFP

Herewith a list of the sovereign council's members:


Abdel Fattah al-Burhan (Chairman)

Mohamed Hamdan Daglo

Shamseddine Kabbashi

Yasser al-Atta

Ibrahim Jaber


Aisha Mousa

Hassan Sheikh Idris

Mohamed al-Fakki Suleiman

Sidiq Tawr Kafi

Mohamed al-Taayushi

Raja Nicolas Abdel Massih