SCC announces Mobily T-20 National Champions Trophy

January 08, 2019
Syed Mussarat Khalil

JEDDAH — Saudi Cricket Centre (SCC) announced the Mobily T20 National Champions Trophy. The first ever National Championship, sponsored by Mobily, will see all 12 regional cricket associations of the Kingdom in action.

The championship will begin from Jan. 11, according to Nadeem Nadwi, chief executive officer of SCC Monday.

Mobily National Champions Trophy will be played in two phases as Qualifier and Super Six.

Twelve regional teams, divided into 3 groups, will be playing in the qualifying round with a total number of 18 matches to be played at Abha, Dammam and Madinah on Jan. 11 and 12, hosted by Aseer Cricket League (ACL), Eastern Province Cricket League (EPCA) and Madina Al-Munawwara Cricket League (MMCA), respectively.

Nadwi said that the championship is specially designed to take the competition on higher level and pave way for establishing first class cricket in Saudi Arabia in near future. The excitement is huge among the teams and everyone is preparing hard to show their talent.

Mobily, one of the main Telecom Companies in Saudi Arabia, has supported the first National Champions Trophy (NCT2018.

The finals will be played on Feb.1 in Riyadh.

The championship will provide an opportunity to all regional cricket associations to play minimum 3 and maximum 8 matches with other associations, during the course of three weeks in T20 format, thus playing on different surfaces and in different conditions against different audiences.

Matches on Jan. 11 and 12:

Abha: Aseer Cricket League (ACL), Najran Cricket League (NCL), Jizan Region Cricket League and Western Province Cricket League (WPCA).

Dammam: Eastern Province Cricket Association (EPCA), Riyadh Cricket League (RCL), Al Qaseem Cricket League (AQCL) and Jubail Cricket Association (JCA).

Medina: Madina Al-Munawwara Cricket Association (MMCA), Riyadh Cricket Association (RCA), Yanbu Al Sinaiyah Cricket Association (YACA) and Tabuk Cricket Association (TCA).

Top two teams from each group will qualify for Super Six, where 15 matches will be played and the team on points/NNR will be declared national champion.

January 08, 2019
2 hours ago

Germany tie with Spain to keep World Cup dreams alive

2 hours ago

Canada knocked out of World Cup after 4-1 loss to Croatia

9 hours ago

Morocco stun Belgium in World Cup thriller